Salt Lake City, UT.  – On Tuesday morning, during live broadcast address from the annex of the iconic Salt Lake Temple, President Russell M. Nelson was formally announced as the 17th president and prophet of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The announcement was made by Elder D. Todd Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles during the broadcast. Nelson was sustained and set apart in the Salt Lake Temple on Sunday, January 14.

President Nelson, age 93, succeeds President Thomas S. Monson, who passed away January 2.

The new leader of a global faith of more than 16 million members has named President Dallin H. Oaks, 85, and President Henry B. Eyring, 84, to serve with him as his first and second counselors in the First Presidency, the Church’s highest governing body.

President Nelson also announced that M. Russell Ballard, 89, is the Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.