Casper, WY.   –   Central Wyoming’s Natrona County School District first proposed the closure of four of it’s schools in September, and now following a Monday vote by it’s board of trustees, four schools will in fact close their doors beginning next year.

Among the schools that will be shuttered are one middle school, Frontier Middle School and three elementary schools, University Park, Mountain View and Willard.

District officials point to a decline in enrollment as a factor in the decision to close the schools, and the board believes that the closure will save the district as much as $2.5 million a year.

740 students currently attend schools in the Natrona County School District, a district that covers over 5,300 square miles.

Related Posts